Students are required to register for classes each quarter during the announced registration period and to pay a Registration Fee, tuition and related fees. Students must register for the required minimum number of quarter units, as applicable for their course within the announced registration period. A late registration fee will be assessed for registrations made beyond the registration period. No late registrations will be accepted beyond the Add-Drop period.
California Trinity School of Business awards academic units based on quarter credit hours. One unit of credit for each 50-minute class session per week. For each credit in the graduate program, students are expected to complete a minimum of two hours of academic work (study, preparation, etc.) outside of class each week. The policy on academic credits is based on those generally accepted in degree-granting institution of higher education. A quarter at CTSB typically consists of 10 weeks excluding final exam week. Student at CTSB are advised to limit their job and social commitments in order to give their coursework adequate attention.
As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to singing an enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.
All graduate classes are held six days a week, Monday through Saturday, on the campus premises of California Trinity School of Business at 2333 Beverly Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90057. The maximum number of students in a typical classroom or laboratory instruction is 25 students.
Students can add and drop a course during the first week; or change grading basis through the end of the last day of the second week without charge. After the second week of instruction, a fee is charged to make a change.
Anything submitted or requested as an exception to a published deadline is subject to an additional penalty fee (included where applicable).
Change grading basis
|Use Add/drop form||$0.00|
|Week 2||Change grading basis||Use Add/drop form||$0.00|
|Week 2||Add course
|Use Add/drop form||$5.00|
|Week 2||Late Registration||Registration Form||$5.00|
|Week 3||Late registration||By petition and CAO/COO Approval||$50.00|
|Weeks 3-4||Change grading basis||By petition and CAO/COO Approval||$10.00|
|Weeks 5-11 or
|Change grading basis||By petition and CAO/COO Approval||$35.00|
The School conducts quarterly evaluations of student progress, taking into consideration the minimum GPA allowable, the minimum successful units completion (% of courses attempted) and the percent of maximum time frame allowable. Students who complete their programs in a shorter time framework are subject to the same criteria based on the percentages of maximum time frame allowable.
The following Standards of Satisfactory Academic Progress apply to all graduate students in the degree program. Students must meet the minimum standards set forth below, or they shall be deemed to be out of compliance in meeting the Standards of Satisfactory Academic Progress criteria.
Continuing students are expected to meet the academic standards required by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. CTSB adheres to a program for tracking the Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) of all students.
For the purpose of determining Satisfactory Academic Progress, students must maintain satisfactory quantitative as well as qualitative academic progress. The Satisfactory Academic Progress Requirements of CTSB are:
If the student’s progress, measured at the end of each term, are determined to be unsatisfactory, the school may place the students on academic probation. The students will be advised of the performance necessary to reestablish SAP.
The Academic Recovery Plan must be structured so that the student reestablishes SAP prior to exceeding the Maximum Timeframe. The student’s performance against the academic plan will be analyzed at the end of each term or module. The student on the Academic Recovery Plan will be advised at the end of each term or module to ensure that they understand their performance during this time and how it compares against the plan.
The student may reestablish satisfactory academic progress at any time if s/he successfully completes a term with a cumulative GPA at or above 3.0 and a pace at or above 66.67%. The student who reestablishes satisfactory academic progress are advised that they no longer need to be on an academic plan.
Any student whose cumulative grade point average falls below 3.0 (B) on a 4.0 scale, or whose attendance rate for the previous 2 quarters all fall below 80% will be placed on academic probation. No record of this status will be placed on the student’s permanent record. Probation begins with the quarter following notification. A student who receives a Notice of Academic Probation is required to consult with the Chief Academic Officer and submit a plan for improving his/her grade point average. During this period, the Chief Academic Officer will closely monitor the student’s academic activities and/or attendance to determine the cause of unsatisfactory academic performance and recommend remedial measures. Academic probation may be removed when a student improves his/her grade point average to 3.0 or higher, or, if probation is due to attendance, improves attendance rate. A student will be dismissed or terminated from the program, if, at the end of the quarter on probation, the student has not improved his/her academic performance or, if probation is due to attendance, has not attended at least 80% of the classes.
Students are required to attend at least 80% of the scheduled class meetings to be eligible to take the final examination, unless an acceptable reason is given and approved by the faculty in charge of the course. If a student misses a final examination due to an unforeseen circumstance, a make-up examination may be arranged, subject to the prepayment of make-up examination fee.
Absence may be excused for childbirth, documented illness, injury, death in the family, or other emergency situations. Students should call the Student Services as soon as possible on the first day of absence and give an estimate of the duration of the absence.
Two incidences of tardiness (over 30 minutes) are the equivalent of one absence.
Excessive absence is defined as absence in excess of 30% of scheduled classroom hours in academic courses. To receive credit for the course, all work missed due to absence or tardiness must be made up to the satisfaction of the instructor. Instructors will normally arrange for make-up examinations in case of excused absences. Instructors are not required to provide make-up for exams missed due to unexcused absence or lateness, unless the reason for absence or lateness is acceptable; otherwise, a failing grade may be assigned.
Grades are based on the completion of courses and final exam. Grades are reported at the end of the quarter within two weeks by instructors. Passing grades are A, B, and C or D unless otherwise specified in the course descriptions. The grading system adopted by CTSB is as follows:
|A||Excellent||95.00-100.00||A = 4.0|
|A-||Superior||90.00-94.99||A = 3.7|
|B+||Very Good||87.00-89.99||B+ = 3.3|
|B||Good||83.00-86.99||B = 3.0|
|B-||Satisfactory||80.00-82.99||B- = 2.7|
|C+||Satisfactory||77.00-79.99||C+ = 2.3|
|C||Average||73.00-76.99||C = 2.0|
|C-||Below Average||70.00-72.99||C- = 1.7|
|D+||Below Average||67.00-69.99||D+ = 1.3|
|D||Below Average||63.00-66.99||D = 1.0|
|D-||Minimal||60.00-62.99||D- = 0.7|
|F||Failure||0.00-59.99||F = 0.0|
Graduate Students may take up to sixteen quarter units (i.e. 4 courses) of elective courses attempted towards the completion of the degree program on a Pass/No Pass basis. Students should consult with the Registrar or Chief Academic Officer regarding the choice of “P/NP” grading for courses in the major.
After initial registration in an elective course, in order to change the grading basis (e.g., to “P/NP”) students must submit a registration form to the Admin Office of the School Registrar by the end of the second (2nd) week of an academic quarter. Graduate students can change grading basis on optionally graded courses with no fee during weeks 1 – 2 of the term. In weeks 3 – 4, students are charged a per-class change fee of $10. In weeks 5 – 11, students are charged a per-class change fee of $35. Please consult the Admin Office fee schedule for current fees. Once a course is graded, students may request a change in grading option, only by petition and based on approval by the CAO/COO.
A student who satisfactorily completes a “P/NP” course will receive a “P” grade. Credit will be granted. However no grade points are assigned and it is not computed in the GPA. “P” grades are equivalent to a “C” grade or higher.
A grade of “NP” (no pass) will be assigned when the requirements for credit in the course have not been satisfied with a level of “C” or higher. “NP” grades are given for “C-” and below. No credit is granted, no grade points are assigned and the “NP” is not computed in the GPA.
A grade of Incomplete is assigned when work is of passing quality but incomplete for good cause as determined by the instructor. “Good cause” may include illness, serious personal problems, an accident, death in the family or other situation deemed to be of equal gravity, and does not include extensions of time granted for convenience.
If the Incomplete is not removed by the end of the specified time, it becomes an “F” on the student’s record and may not be made up without an extension.
As School regulations require that a student must have a grade point average of 3.0 or higher, the effect of this regulation is to regard Incomplete Grades as “F” in determining whether a student has met all degree requirements.
A maximum of two courses completed with a minimum grade of “B”(3.0) in graduate status at institutions other than CTSB may apply to a master’s program at CTSB. CTSB will grant unit or subject credit for equivalent work completed at another institution towards a CTSB graduate degree program. Transferred courses will appear with a “TC” on the student’s transcript. All transferable credit attempted will be counted as unit and course credit, and will not be counted into the student’s cumulative GPA at CTSB.
Courses accepted for transfer must be reported on an official transcript (academic record) which must be provided to the CTSB Admin Office in a sealed envelope (or electronically submitted from the transfer campus’ registrar’s office) from the original college/university of enrollment, bearing the institution’s official seal and registrar’s signature. CTSB does not award credit posted to a third-party institution’s transcript. Credit is only considered from the original institution’s official academic record.
CTSB does not award credit for: work or volunteer experience, vocational or technical training, and personal enrichment courses; remedial academic or pre-baccalaureate courses, especially in English and mathematics. Courses completed at unaccredited/non-regionally accredited institutions may be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.
Students who wish to audit a class may do so if they have previously taken and passed a course at CTSB. Audited and other non-credit courses are not included in fulfilling the requirements for SAP.
With the consent of the Academic Advisor and/or the Chief Academic Officer, any student may repeat a course in which a grade of C, D, F, or No Pass is assigned up to a maximum of eight units.
In such repeated courses, only the most recently received grade and corresponding grade points shall be used in calculating a student’s grade point average, but all units attempted and grades received shall remain part of the student’s permanent record. Any repeated course must be taken for a letter grade.
For courses graded on a Pass/No Pass basis only, or for courses where the student elects P/NP grading, the repeated course may be taken on an P/NP basis as well.
Students who officially withdraw from a course between weeks 1-2 of a regular academic quarter will not receive any notation on their transcript. Students who withdraw from a course between weeks 3-4 of a regular academic quarter will receive a non–punitive notation of “W” on their transcripts, indicating the withdrawal. Students cannot withdraw from a course after the fourth week of a regular academic quarter. It is the student’s responsibility to withdraw officially from a course or all courses. Failure to attend a course does not constitute a withdrawal. Students who stop attending courses without officially withdrawing will receive a grade of “INC” (incomplete), which is calculated to an “F” grade.
Unavoidable situations may occur that require a student to miss one or two days of a particular class, or portions of a class. If a student is unable to attend classes or to complete all assignments for a class on time, the student must inform the professor and the CTSB office of the situation as soon as possible. If this initial communication is in person or over the telephone, it must be followed up as soon as possible in writing.
Once the professor and/or Chief Academic Officer are informed, they will then discuss the situation and determine the steps needed to make up the missed classes or work. If more than a small part of the course is missed (e.g., multiple assignments or examinations), then the student may need to be dropped from the course. However, if the professor determines that the student is in good standing and has a legitimate reason for missing no more than a small part of the course, the student may be assigned an Incomplete. Otherwise, the student may be assigned a grade of F for the course.
The Chief Academic Officer has the ultimate authority and responsibility for determining the appropriate makeup of missed classes, assignments, and examinations. It may not be possible to make up the missed requirements and the student’s grade may be negatively impacted. The Chief Academic Officer or professor is under no obligation to provide a makeup option, especially if more than a small part of the course is missed (e.g., multiple classes, assignments, or examinations). Students may only make up two courses listed as Incomplete during their degree study at CTSB. If the student is no longer matriculated at CTSB and requests to make up an Incomplete Grade for course credit, the student must do so within one (1) year of the accepted extension filing or from the enrollment date of the course.
1. If the student misses an examination for legitimate reasons, possible alternatives include: taking the exam early, taking the exam remotely, taking the exam with the next offering of that class, or retaking the course. Proctoring, shipping, faxing, or other administrative fees, if applicable, would be at the student’s expense.
2. If a student misses a paper or other assignment for legitimate reasons, possible alternatives include: finding an approved substitute and date for submission with the professor or retaking the course.
3. If a student misses one or two classes for legitimate reasons, the student should discuss the possible makeup requirements with the professor or the Chief Academic Officer, which can range from getting notes from the student’s classmates to making up the class material in some other way.
4. A student may receive a grade of F if a professor feels the missed classes, assignments, and/or exams warrant a failing grade.
5. Unless otherwise governed by rules established by the professor, if a student misses three or more class sessions, he or she will be dropped from the course and required to retake the course in its entirety.
If a student anticipates being unable to enroll for the next quarter, he or she should apply to with the Registrar’s Office for a Leave of Absence. Three consecutive quarters (one calendar year) will be the maximum non-medical Leave of Absence granted.
Medical disability or military service Leaves of Absence may justifiably extend the time limit for completion of degree requirements. Students who fail to re-register after an approved Leave of Absence expires will be regarded as withdrawn from CTSB and subject to current admission policy requirements.
It is strongly recommended that students discuss their options with school administrators prior to initiating any transfer and follow the protocols for withdrawing from CTSB.
Transferring from CTSB to another university is the student’s responsibility. Since all universities have different criteria for accepting students, it is beyond CTSB’s ability to determine what credit might be given for course work completed at CTSB.
Students are expected to complete the CTSB MBA program within three (3) years of the start date. If a student must leave CTSB due to outside extenuating circumstances and re-matriculates at a later date to complete the degree, the course credits previously taken at CTSB will expire five years after the date the course(s) were completed. Therefore, if the program is not completed or designation is not earned within five years, the course credits will expire, and the course must be repeated to meet the program requirements, where applicable. The Registrar’s Office will review each course’s completion date to determine which have retained or expired credit. Transfer credits from courses taken externally are subject to the same rules based on the date the credits were posted to a student’s transcript.
All students at CTU are expected to adhere to the highest standards of academic honesty in the performance of all academic work. Students will be subject to disciplinary action for committing any form of academic dishonesty, including but not limited to, cheating, plagiarism and the use of materials prepared by another.
Violators will be subject to severe disciplinary action, subject to academic probation, suspension, or dismissal. The use of commercially prepared term or research papers, in whole or in part, for completion of any course requirements, will be considered the most serious offense, and will include criminal penalties by the State of California for the sale or distribution of such materials.
Any student whose cumulative grade point average falls below 2.7 (B-) on a 4.0 scale will be placed on academic probation. No record of this status will be placed on the student’s permanent record. Probation begins with the quarter following notification. A student on academic probation may not be allowed to take a full course load. A student who receives a Notice of Academic Probation is required to schedule monthly conferences with the Academic Dean and submit a plan for improving his/her grade point average. During this period, the Academic Dean will closely monitor the probationer’s academic activities to determine the cause of unsatisfactory academic performance and recommend remedial measures. Academic probation may be removed when a student improves his/her grade point average to 2.7 or higher.